Another Turning Point…

For years, the song below has been sort of an anthem for me.  I’m not sure why.  It started a few years after Tony was first diagnosed.  I heard this song on my car radio and it literally took my breath away.  I had to pull over to collect myself, as I was hyperventilating and sobbing.  I had no idea why this song struck me so… and still does. 

When I first heard it, I imagined myself years down the road, explaining to people just how I cured Tony’s autism.  I imagined how happy I was and Tony was by my side, smiling, with his arm around me proud as could be.  He was ‘normal’.  He was in high school.

Flash forward to today.  I heard this song on my way to pick up Tony from school.  High School.  He is not cured.  Nor will he ever be.  Now, when I hear these lyrics, I dream of a day that Tony will be able to live ‘symptom free’… knowing in my heart that he will never fully be free of autism. 

“Another turning point;
a fork stuck in the road.

Time grabs you by the wrist;
directs you where to go.

So make the best of this test
and don’t ask why.

It’s not a question
but a lesson learned in time.

It’s something unpredictable
but in the end it’s right.
I hope you had the time of your life.

So take the photographs
and still frames in your mind.

Hang it on a shelf
In good health and good time.

Tattoos of memories
and dead skin on trial.

For what it’s worth,
it was worth all the while.

It’s something unpredictable
but in the end it’s right.
I hope you had the time of your life.

(music break)

It’s something unpredictable
but in the end it’s right.
I hope you had the time of your life.

It’s something unpredictable
but in the end it’s right.
I hope you had the time of your life.”     (lyrics by Green Day)

A simple song.  A simple dream… adapted with time. 

Becki

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://theothersideofnormal.wordpress.com/2010/11/23/another-turning-point/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. I can connect to that song . After Bob had his heart surgery, and they did more harm than good, we were told he might live another 5 yrs. When his heart was down to pumping 5% ,they said it could happen anytime. We reflected on our life together, and how we did have the time of our life. We just always enjoyed everyday we had together. I am sure you have a lot of joyful days with Tony. He was given to you for a reason. I know you must have some hard days, but just try to remember the good ones. That is what I do. Love you Dar


Leave a Reply

